HSPLS Award Winners Honored at Library Institute Days

Posted on: February 15, 2017 | Category: News

HSPLS EOY+TOY 2017 Group Shot

The Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS) is proud to announce the winners of its 2017 State Incentive & Service Awards Program. Winners were surprised and honored at their respective Maui and Oahu Library Institute Day Workshops:

  • Manager of the Year – Susan Werner, Branch Manager, Wailuku Public Library
  • Employee of the Year – Curt Fukumoto, Children’s Librarian, Kaneohe Public LibraryPhoto - Susan Werner, 17 MOY
  • Team of the Year – Kahuku Public & School Library

Werner, Wailuku’s Branch Manager for more than 10 years, substantially increased the quality of Maui’s library services and staff development. She accomplished this through outstanding efforts as a leader and mentor, and was exceptional in planning and organizational skills. Werner was also effective in advocacy and coordination of innovative services – including the recently-launched Holoholo Bookmobile.

Fukumoto, Kaneohe Children’s Librarian since 2011, makes his weekly preschool storytime programs come alive with music, shadowbox plays, crafts, and puppets! Fukumoto regularly attracts crowds of 80 to 100 children, including some families who travel from Ewa Beach to Kaneohe. This is Fukumoto’s second Employee of the Year honor; first time was in 2010 as Salt Lake-Moanalua Library’s Children’s Librarian.

Team Kahuku Public & School Library made their community more aware of the library through innovative programs and partnerships. This dedicated staff of 6 renovated space to create the Kahuku Cool Lab (Library’s Makerspace). More than 1,800 Kahuku kids learned STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts & Math) concepts last year in programs at the Cool Lab. Staff members include: Branch Manager Lea Domingo, Tamara King, Debra Ann Yoshizu, Jolene Peapealalo, Don Ramos and Presentacion Galicinao.

Sustained Superior Performance Award recipients were also surprised and honored at the Hawaii Island and Oahu Library Institute Day Workshops: Samuel Toler, Jr., Janitor II of Hilo Public Library and Susan Nakagawa, Library Assistant IV of Library Development Services Section.

The HSPLS Manager, Employee, and Team of the Year winners will be honored with other departmental awardees at the Governor’s Awards Ceremony on May 18 at 2:30 p.m.



In state observance of Thanksgiving, all public libraries will be closed on Thursday, November 24th.