Who Will Win This Year’s Nēnē Award?

Posted on: April 28, 2017 | Category: News

Audra Furuichi-Speaker.Nene Award 5617


For the first time in recent years, the annual Nēnē Award Ceremony will be open to the public!

Join us for the 53rd annual Nēnē Award Ceremony on Saturday, May 6 at 1:30 p.m. at Mission Memorial Auditorium (Frank F. Fasi Civic Grounds)! This free event is being held in conjunction with the 2017 Hawai’i Book and Music Festival.

The Nēnē Award is Hawai’i’s Children’s Choice Book Award. Since 1959, students in grades 4 to 6 statewide have voted for their favorite fiction book at public libraries, and private and public school libraries.

The ceremony will honor the 2016 Nēnē Award-winning graphic novel Smile by bestselling author Raina Telgemeier, and 32 student contest winners. The student winners’ works are based on three themes of Smile, and in the categories of digital-animated video, digital comic strip, and hand-drawn comic strip.    Nene16-Smile-adj bookcover

Audra Furuichi, creator of Nemu Nemu and Blue Hawaii, will be the guest speaker and announce the 2017 Nēnē Award-winning title. Hear Furuichi talk about creating comics and using drawing to tell stories.

The Nēnē Award is sponsored by the Hawai’i Library Association’s Children and Youth Section, Hawai’i Association of School Librarians, Department of Education, Hawai’i State Public Library System, Friends of the Library of Hawai’i, Scholastic Book Fairs, Perma-Bound Books, The Library Corporation, and the Hawai’i Book and Music Festival.  HSPLS Children’s Librarians Danielle Todd and Katherine Bengston are the 2017-2018 Nēnē Committee Co-Chairs.

In state observance of Thanksgiving, all public libraries will be closed on Thursday, November 24th.