Hawai‘i’s Kids Vote “Roller Girl” Winner of 2017 Nēnē Award

Posted on: May 6, 2017 | Category: News

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson has been chosen by the children of Hawai‘i as the Nēnē Award 2017 winner! Guest speaker Audra Furuichi, creator of Nemu Nemu and Blue Hawaii, announced today the winning title to more than 250 invited guests and the general public at the 53rd Annual Nēnē Award Ceremony.

This marked the first time in recent years the ceremony was open to the public. The free event was held at Mission Memorial Auditorium in conjunction with the 2017 Hawai‘i Book and Music Festival.

Roller Girl, a Newbery Honor Award Winner, is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby. The Nēnē Honor Book Award (runner-up) is “The One and Only Ivan” by Katherine Applegate.

The annual Nēnē Award is presented to the favorite fiction book based on a vote by the children of Hawai‘i in grades 4 through 6. This year, a total of 5,590 students from 62 public libraries and private and public schools statewide voted. Thank you Perma-Bound Books for donating a copy of Roller Girl to each participating public library and school!

More than 30 student contest winners were honored at the ceremony. They entered digital animated movies, digital comic strips, and hand drawn comic strips celebrating 2016 Nēnē Award winner Smile by Raina Telgemeier.

Click http://nene.k12.hi.us/winners/2016/2017winners.html to see the contest winners’ names.

HSPLS Children’s Librarians Danielle Todd and Katherine Bengston are the 2017-2018 Nēnē Committee Co-Chairpersons. Congratulations to the Nēnē Committee for coordinating this Roller Girl cover.Nene17winnersuccessful event! Click www.neneaward.org for more information and see the official news release.

In state observance of Thanksgiving, all public libraries will be closed on Thursday, November 24th.