Libraries to host informational programs on Hawai‘i’s Forest Birds

Posted on: June 7, 2024 | Category: News

A horizontal banner with various Hawaii forest birds

2024 is Ka Makahiki o Nā Manu Nahele: The Year of the Forest Birds, a time to celebrate the jewels of our Hawaiian forests.

Specialists from the State Dept. of Land & Natural Resources’ Division of Forestry & Wildlife (DOFAW) and various local conservation groups will share information about Hawai‘i’s birds, the threats they face, and efforts to resist extinction. The interactive program will also allow you to hear the different birdsongs, watch a brief documentary featuring hula and other practices related to forest birds, take a virtual field trip to a conservation center, and view some creative clips of a youth video challenge on forest birds. Stickers and activity sheets will be offered. This free one-hour event is suitable for ages 5 and older.

Programs will be held at selected public libraries on Oahu, Hawaii Island, Kauai, and Maui.

Mahalo to the State Dept. of Land and Natural Resources’ Division of Forestry & Wildlife for arranging the library programs.

Date & TimeLocationIsland
Thursday, June 20, 2024
5:30 p.m.
Hanapepe Public LibraryKauai
Saturday, June 22, 2024
10:00 a.m.
Aiea Public LibraryOahu
Saturday, June 22, 2024
11:00 a.m.
Waialua Public LibraryOahu
Monday, June 24, 2024
10:00 a.m.
Kahuku Public and School LibraryOahu
Wednesday, June 26, 2024
10:00 a.m.

Laupahoehoe Public and School Library
Hawaii Island
Thursday, June 27, 2024
2:00 p.m.

Ewa Beach Public and School Library
Oahu
Saturday, June 29, 2024
10:00 a.m.
Liliha Public LibraryOahu
Saturday, June 29, 2024
11:00 a.m.
Hawaii Kai Public LibraryOahu
Saturday, June 29, 2024
2:00 p.m.
Waikiki-Kapahulu Public LibraryOahu
Monday, July 1, 2024
5:00 p.m.
Lihue Public LibraryKauai
Saturday, July 6, 2024
10:00 a.m.
Waianae Public LibraryOahu
Saturday, July 6, 2024
1:00 p.m.
Nanakuli Public LibraryOahu
Saturday, July 13, 2024
10:00 a.m.
Makawao Public LibraryMaui
Saturday, July 13, 2024
1:00 p.m.
Kihei Public LibraryMaui
Saturday, July 13, 2024
1:00 p.m.
Salt Lake-Moanalua Public LibraryOahu
Monday, July 15, 2024
2:00 p.m.
Kalihi-Palama Public LibraryOahu
Wednesday, July 17, 2024
1:00 p.m.
Hilo Public LibraryHawaii Island
Sunday, July 21, 2024
2:00 p.m.
Kaimuki Public LibraryOahu
Monday, July 22, 2024
5:30 p.m.
Waimea Public LibraryKauai
Tuesday, July 23, 2024
1:30 p.m.
North Kohala Public LibraryHawaii Island
Wednesday, July 24, 2024
10:30 a.m.
Hale Mahaolu Ewalu
(Maui Bookmobile location)

Maui
Thursday, July 25, 2024
10:00 a.m.
Koloa Public and School LibraryKauai
Saturday, July 27, 2024
1:00 p.m.
Kahului Public LibraryMaui

Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication, or a modification of policies or procedures to participate in a program, service, or activity should contact library staff as soon as possible. Advance requests 48 hours or more before the event are encouraged, but not required. Program schedule is subject to change.

In State holiday observance of King Kamehameha I Day, all public libraries will be closed on Tuesday, June 11, 2024.

In observance of the Independence Day holiday, all public libraries will be closed on Thursday, July 4, 2024.