ALERT! In abundance of caution to support the health of our communities, ALL Hawaii State Public Library locations and bookmobile services will be suspended March 18 - May 5, 2020. Read more.
|Item||Daily fine||Maximum fine|
|Books and all other materials on 3 weeks loan||$0.25 per item||$7.50 per item|
|VHS tapes||$0.25 per item||$7.50 per item|
|DVDs||$0.25 per item||$7.50 per item|
|Reserved materials not picked up||$1.00 per item charge for all reserved materials not picked up at the library by the indicated pick up date.||-|
|VHS tapes returned unwound||$1.00 per video charge for all videotapes returned but not rewound||-|
Currently, visit your favorite library branch and you will be able to pay any fees and fines at the circulation desk. All libraries currently only accept cash and/or checks.
Please be aware that there is a service fee of $25.00 for a returned check. This fee is defined in HSPLS Administrative Rule §8-200.8.11, which states that “A library customer shall be assessed a service charge for any dishonored check in accordance with section 40-35.5, Hawaii Revised Statutes.”
Return your overdue library materials as soon as possible to stop additional fines from being charged against your account. Pay your fines and other fees as soon as you can. However, please note that the maximum “fines threshold” is $10.00. This means that you will not be able to use your library card if you have fines or charges of $10.00 or more.
If you have lost or damaged a library material so that it can no longer be used by other patrons, you will be responsible for the full valued cost of the material and a $5.00 non refundable processing fee. If you think you may be able to find an exact new replacement copy of the item, please contact library staff for assistance.