Latest information on Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Aloha Library Friends! We miss you!  Even though all of Hawaii State Public Library locations and bookmobile services are suspended March 18 - May 5, 2020, we are working hard to bring you more digital resources. Today we are launching a trial of the on-demand video streaming service, Kanopy. Enjoy!  Read more

Hawaii State Library

Address

478 S King St, Honolulu, HI 96813, United States
808-586-3500

About

Welcome to the Hawaii State Library, the flagship of the Hawaii State Public Library System! With financial assistance from Andrew Carnegie, the present location was acquired and the existing building was built and opened on Feb. 1, 1913. We have a variety of special features, most notably our Hawaii & Pacific Section, the Edna Allyn Room Children’s collection, and also the Federal Documents Section, which has been a Selective Federal Depository Library since 1929. We are located in the historic capitol district of Honolulu, next door to the only Royal Palace in the United States.


Upcoming events at this branch

cover of books and question marks

Celebrate National Library Week by playing the 2020 Book Name Game! Students in Grades 6 to 12, can you identify 9 books by their international covers? Submit answers to the Teen Librarian to win a book prize! While supplies last. Pick up game sheets at the Hawaii State Library Young Adult Section. Game runs from April 11 to May 9.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events.

Cartoon caterpillar reading a book

Join us for a fun and interactive storytime in the Edna Allyn Room for Children. This program is suitable for ages 3 and older. Children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events

Stack of boxed games
  • April 11, 2020 @ 9:30 pm - 11:00 pm
    |Recurring Event (See all)

    An event every month that begins at 9:30 pm on day Second of the month, repeating until September 30, 2020

  • Categories: ,
  • Contact: 808-586-3500

Come and play games at the library, in the Edna Allyn Room for Children, every second Saturday of the month. No registration required – just show up and play!  Recommended for children ages 3+ (children under 5 must be accompanied by an adult). Call or visit the library to confirm (there will be no game day on state holidays).

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date.  We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations.  All programs are subject to change.  For a list of Upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events.

Cartoon caterpillar reading a book

Join us for a fun and interactive storytime in the Edna Allyn Room for Children. This program is suitable for ages 3 and older. Children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events

Cartoon caterpillar reading a book

Join us for a fun and interactive storytime in the Edna Allyn Room for Children. This program is suitable for ages 3 and older. Children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events

a pile of LEGO blocks
  • April 25, 2020 @ 9:30 pm - 10:30 pm
    |Recurring Event (See all)

    An event every month that begins at 9:30 pm on day Last of the month, repeating indefinitely

  • Categories:
  • Contact: 808-586-3500

LEGO lovers can join us for an hour of free play with LEGO bricks. This program is recommended for ages 5-12. Children ages 5-7 must be accompanied by a parent or caregiver. Please register at the Children’s Reference Desk from 9:00 – 11:30 a.m. on the day of the program. No pre-registration. Seating is limited.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events

Cartoon caterpillar reading a book

Join us for a fun and interactive storytime in the Edna Allyn Room for Children. This program is suitable for ages 3 and older. Children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events

Cartoon caterpillar reading a book

Join us for a fun and interactive storytime in the Edna Allyn Room for Children. This program is suitable for ages 3 and older. Children must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date. We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations. All programs are subject to change. For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events

Stack of boxed games
  • May 9, 2020 @ 9:30 pm - 11:00 pm
    |Recurring Event (See all)

    An event every month that begins at 9:30 pm on day Second of the month, repeating until September 30, 2020

  • Categories: ,
  • Contact: 808-586-3500

Come and play games at the library, in the Edna Allyn Room for Children, every second Saturday of the month. No registration required – just show up and play!  Recommended for children ages 3+ (children under 5 must be accompanied by an adult). Call or visit the library to confirm (there will be no game day on state holidays).

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date.  We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations.  All programs are subject to change.  For a list of Upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events.

book cover for One Boy No Water

Students in Grades 5 to 8 are invited to attend a book discussion featuring the 2017 Nene Nominee title, One Boy, No Water by Lehua Parker. The first book in the Niuhi Shark Saga stars 13-year-old Zader who is allergic to water. Here Pacific myths and legends come to life, perfect for fans of Moana, Lilo & Stitch, The Karate Kid, and the Percy Jackson series. This booktalk will be led by UH Manoa English Professor Todd Sammons and BYU English Professor Caryn Lesuma. At the end of the program, students can choose (1) book from the library’s Treasure Chest. Selections include fantasy, nonfiction, comics, and much more! While supplies last.

If you need an auxiliary aid/service or other accommodation due to a disability, please contact the library at least 7 days prior to the program date.  We will make every attempt to fulfill all requests for accommodations.  All programs are subject to change.  For a list of upcoming library events, visit www.librarieshawaii.org/events.

Hours

Date Time
Monday 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday CLOSED - CLOSED

Access

Parking spots 0
Parking fee Metered
Handicap parking spots 2
Book drop off Yes
Restrooms Yes

Services

Computers 54
Magazines 208
Newspapers 24
WiFi Yes
Friends' book store Yes
Free computer classes Yes
Meeting rooms No
Photocopying Yes
Test proctoring services No